Theodore

Standard

2013.01.08 Theodore (1)

Today’s subject was really easy to decide on. The Photo-A-Day prompt was “Something that begins with T” and I could think of nothing I would like a photo of better than my “baby” Theodore.
Seven years old, my little Teddy-bear is growing up so fast. For starters he doesn’t like to be called Teddy any more, he especially doesn’t like to be called Teddy-bear. He is too old for that already. Over the summer he started introducing himself as Theodore, although when he went back to school he has been using Ted a lot. Theodore is a lot to write out. Frequently, when he does write it out he spells it “Theodoer.” I think that is pretty adorable and have filed it away under “embarrassing stories to tell potential girlfriends.” It is hard to believe that he is already in first grade, playing t-ball, running cross country, in scouts, and hanging out with the cute blonde from next door.
Theodore is a carbon-copy of this father. Their appearance, their expressions, especially their interests and how they think. Theodore is my little engineer. He will spend hours building Legos® or creating robots, racecars, and rocket ships from scraps of cardboard and empty pop bottles.
But, sometimes I see a lot of me in him too. He is the best big brother. He loves babies. Theodore was in the room when his brother Jensen was born. All throughout my labor he was very attentive and a great comfort. While I was pushing, he was standing my by side holding my hand then he disappeared. I thought maybe it was a little intense for him so he backed away, but I realized I was wrong when this little blonde head popped up between my legs. I’m told that he practically delivered the baby himself. He help Daddy cut the cord and blood splattered all over the two of them (which was really cool in his 6-year-old mind). I remember being present when my youngest brother was born (I was 5), and although I don’t remember many details about it, I know that it was something very special that I shared with my mom and my brother. Having all boys I never thought I would get to share a birth with them. Theodore’s presence at Jensen’s birth will always be a treasured memory for me.
Although I hate to admit it I see a lot of my less-than-desirable qualities in him also. Being the oldest he can get a little bossy sometimes and he is really stubborn. I’d love to blame Daddy for this but deep down I know it is all me. His sleep habits are like mine, which makes for some tough mornings. We both hate to get out of bed.
Overall he is my favorite first-born son, my favorite Theodore. I treasure the special times we spend together, and look forward to all the adventures yet to come. I love you Ted!
Because asking me to post just one photo is pretty much impossible (I have well over 3000 to choose from) here are some of my favorite photos of Theodore:

Our baby, Theodore Martin, 3 days old

Our baby, Theodore Martin, 3 days old

One year old

One year old

Riding a pony at the tree farm. December, 2006

Riding a pony at the tree farm. December, 2006

Hanging out at Fort Meigs. May, 2008

Hanging out at Fort Meigs. May, 2008

Teddy & Mommy on the break wall at Presque Isle, Marquette, MI. July, 2009

Teddy & Mommy on the break wall at Presque Isle, Marquette, MI. July, 2009

His future is so bright...waering sunglasses while waiting for the electric light parade in the Magic Kingdom.  December, 2010

His future is so bright…wearing sunglasses while waiting for the electric light parade in the Magic Kingdom. December, 2010

Sharing a lollypop with Mommy. December, 2010

Sharing a lollypop with Mommy. December, 2010

Ready to take Jensen home! December 14, 2011

Ready to take Jensen home! December 14, 2011

"Best day EVER!" The first day of first grade. August 2012

“Best day EVER!” The first day of first grade. August 2012

My handsome guy. Christmas 2012

My handsome guy. Christmas 2012

 

Leave a Reply

